Image 2

 

Working Update 1

IMAGE 1.pngIMAGE 2.jpg

After long deliberation on finding something interesting to not only audiences but myself, I have finally come up with a concept. I was going through some old photos which I have taken over the years since having got my first camera and a thought dawned on me. If I was in these same situations again, would I take the photo with my camera or with my phone?  In this Image I want to explore this idea of capturing the moment contrasted to experiencing the moment and how this is affected by the device which we use: either phone or camera.

The two primary images are of moments very fond to me in which I captured something quite beautiful and to this day looking back I remember standing on that sand or leaning on the fence, my finger waiting for the right moment to take the photo. I have then transposed 2 rectangular blank spaces, mimicking the size of phones, over the top of the primary focus in the images. This is a strong statement as to the whole experience lost by sometimes using phones, in that it can cheapen and make a special moment feel mediocre to everyday life. It still has a lot of progress to go with finding a solid foundational concept and i am considering using 4 images to create a sort of collage. As for text, i am hoping it will come to me once i have the image part done.

Working Update 2

Image 1 all merged centred.png

After going through my photos I have chosen these specific ones as they are poignant moments. I took some feedback into consideration to introvert the mask but i have decided not too because in the centre of these images is the focal point which is now a mystery to the responder alluding to how phones take away from what is right in front of us. I have chosen to go with black and white as it creates contrast and dimensions to the images that represent a smart phone. I am still struggling for a caption to use but so far i am happy with it

Working Update 3

TEXT IN BUBBLES.png

The biggest change to this image is the use of text. I have opted for the statement ‘What a nice view’ to ironically contradict how it is covering the view. I create some text boxs that mimic that of an iphone, and transposed the text in these to create another dimension to my concept in that as a society we are constantly online and through text messages. I have also slightly adjusted the photos: contrast, saturation, sharpen, to make them appear more professional and tantalising.

2 thoughts on “Image 2

  1. Hey Cait, this is a really cool way to explore the idea of connectedness. The shape and placement of the rectangles is a really poignant way of getting people to think about what they are actually seeing when they try to capture a moment. Maybe on the other photos, you could alternate the rectangles with the silhouette of a camera that way it gives a bit more breadth to the “disconnecting” experience. Just an idea. I’m interested to see how your caption will bring this all together. Keep at it, I’m liking the concept.

    Like

  2. A very interesting concept that made me have a good think myself about camera and phone experiences. It is interesting that the only representation of the phone is the solid shape yet it’s instantly identifiable. I definitely agree with the statement this image makes about the loss of experience through phone photography. I myself know the difference made between using both devices and using a proper camera definitely adds an element to the overall narrative. If you’re considering making a collage maybe you could invert the masks and have the background black/white while the phones contain the ‘inferior’ photos. The huge empty space would represent the lost opportunity presented by the proper camera

    Like

Leave a Reply

